location, construction and operation of lines, rates and charges. It is also entrusted with the regulation of other transportation and communication agencies, including express companies, telegraph companies, telephone companies other than those provincially or municipally controlled, international bridges and tunnels and inland shipping. The Board reports to Parliament through the Minister of Transport.

**Canadian Government Specifications Board.**—This is an interdepartmental body composed of the Deputy Heads of 24 Federal Government departments and agencies. The Board operates under the auspices of the National Research Council, through the medium of committees in which government and industry co-operate on a voluntary basis. The Board prepares specifications in commodity fields and for materials, processes and equipment required by government agencies, and arranges for necessary testing and research. An Index of Specifications is available on request to the CGSB Secretary, National Research Council, Ottawa.

Chief Electoral Office.—This Office was established in 1920 under the provisions of the Dominion Elections Act, now the Canada Elections Act (RSC 1952, c. 23), and amendments thereto, and is responsible for the conduct of all federal elections as well as the elections of members of the Northwest Territories Council and of the Yukon Territory Council. In addition it conducts any vote taken under the Canada Temperance Act. The Chief Electoral Officer reports to Parliament through the Secretary of State.

**Department of Citizenship and Immigration.**—This Department was constituted in December 1949 (RSC 1952, c. 67) and came into existence on Jan. 18, 1950 under the Minister of Citizenship and Immigration. Most departmental work is carried on through four branches. The Canadian Citizenship Branch assists governmental and non-governmental agencies engaged or interested in facilitating the adjustment and integration of newcomers and in making Canadians conscious of their privileges and responsibilities as citizens. The Canadian Citizenship Registration Branch administers the Canadian Citizenship Act and is the custodian of all records under that Act and all Naturalization Acts previously in force. The Immigration Branch administers the Immigration Act and Regulations and is responsible for the selection, examination and movement of immigrants, the exclusion or deportation of undesirables and the settlement or establishment of immigrants. Its organization consists of a headquarters office at Ottawa, a regional supervisory staff, and 89 local agencies in the field.

The Minister of Citizenship and Immigration is responsible to Parliament for the National Film Board, the National Library, the Public Archives, and the National Gallery of Canada.

**Civil Service Commission.**—The Civil Service Commission of Canada dates from the Civil Service Act of 1908. Under this Act the Commission was given the responsibility of applying, wherever possible, the principle of appointment by merit in filling permanent positions within departmental headquarters positions at Ottawa, termed the 'inside service'.

The Civil Service Act, 1918 extended the competitive system of appointments to cover the outside as well as the inside service and temporary as well as permanent appointments. It made the Commission responsible for establishing a system of organization and classification that would secure uniformity in the staffing of the various departments and in the salaries paid for work of equal levels of difficulty and responsibility.

The jurisdiction of the Commission now extends to all departments of the Federal Government and to a large number of boards and commissions, exclusive of Crown corporations.

The Civil Service Commission, which is responsible not to the executive government but only to Parliament, consists of three members, one of whom serves as chairman. Each member of the Commission is appointed by the Governor in Council for a term of ten years and each has the rank and standing of a Deputy Minister. The Commission has a staff of approximately 660 persons located in the headquarters office at Ottawa and in district offices at St. John's, Nfld., Halifax, N.S., Saint John, N.B., Montreal, Que., Toronto, Ont., Winnipeg, Man., Regina, Sask., Edmonton, Alta., and Vancouver, B.C.

**Department of Defence Production.**—This Department was established on Apr. 1, 1951 under the provisions of the Defence Production Act (RSC 1952, c. 62, as amended). Under this Act the Minister is given, with certain exceptions, authority to buy defence supplies and construct defence projects required by the Department of National Defence. The Minister may, if authorized by the Governor General in Council, undertake for an associated government anything he may undertake for the Canadian Government. In addition, all powers, duties and functions that theretofore were vested in the Minister of Trade and Commerce under any contract, agreement, lease or other writing entered into pursuant to the Department of Munitions and Supply Act, 1939, or the Defence Supplies Act, 1950, are vested in the Minister of Defence Production.

Broadly, the Department's functions are to procure military goods, to construct defence installations and to organize industry for defence as required on behalf of the Department of National Defence, other government departments, and associated governments; to promote the expansion of defence production facilities and the development of defence-supporting industries particularly